Alcohol Legal Limit in NJ

The penalties for breaking the alcohol legal limit in NJ are very severe for anyone that violates the law. A charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is not something that should be taken lightly. For the first-time offense, the penalties can range from thousands of dollars in fines to a maximum of thirty days in jail. 

If you are dealing with an alcohol use disorder and have ever driven or come close to driving under the influence, consider this information as a guideline of what could be if you break the law. Not only is the disease of addiction scary enough on its own, but if your addiction lands you into legal trouble, it can make matters worse. 

Alcohol Legal Limit in NJ: BAC Limits

The 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration or BAC limit that applies to the state of New Jersey is specified in the state’s Motor Vehicle Code, particularly Section 39: 4-50 (a). 

In spite of the fact that it’s the standard that is used to determine whether or not a driver is responsible for a DUI or DWI offense, the state of New Jersey actually has 5 distinct BAC limits that are in effect:

  • 0.08 Percent: In New Jersey, if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 percent, you are legally liable for DUI/DWI charges, regardless of how impaired you actually are while driving. 
  • 0.10 Percent: When you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol and your blood alcohol concentration is at least 0.10 percent, you could face severe penalties. This includes additional sanctions in addition to a longer suspension of your driver’s license. 
  • 0.15 Percent: When your blood alcohol concentration is at least 0.15 percent, you may be required to undergo the installation of an ignition interlocking device on each of your automobiles for a certain period e.g. months or years after your driving privileges have been reinstated. 
  • 0.04 Percent: For those issued with a commercial driver’s license or CDL, arrest and a charge with DUI/DWI can be expected for 0.04 Percent BAC or higher while operating any commercial vehicle. 
  • 0.01 Percent: Per the “zero tolerance” legislation that is in effect in the state of New Jersey, drivers who are under 21 years old can be imposed DUI/DWI charges if they have alcohol within their system. This is even if the BAC level registers at only 0.01 percent.

Penalties for DUI/DWI Charges

In the state of New Jersey, potential sanctions in a case involving a DUI or DWI can vary depending on the particular circumstances that are involved, including the applicable alcohol legal limit in NJ. 

The following are considerations that can have an impact on the penalties:

  • Whether you have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in the past ten years, either once or multiple times; 
  • Whether or not your blood alcohol content was higher than 0.10 or 0.15 percent; 
  • Whether or not you have been issued a commercial driver’s license; 
  • If there were children under the age of 18 present in your vehicle; 
  • Whether you were stopped for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in or near a school zone; 
  • Whether you were responsible for an accident.

Alcohol Legal Limit in NJ:Fines

Driving under the influence or exceeding the alcohol legal limit in NJ carries a number of penalties, including fines. It’s advised to seek representation when imposed with a DUI/DWI charge. 

When you hire an attorney to represent you in the legal matter, you will not only have an expert work to avoid a jail sentence, having your driving privileges revoked, and other forms of punishment, but the legal professional will also work to reduce your financial liability to the greatest extent possible. 

In cases involving a DUI in the state of New Jersey, the following fines can be enforced:

  • For a first offense and with a blood alcohol concentration from 0.08 to 0.10 percent, the fine ranges from $250 to $400. 
  • For the first offense and with a BAC level of more than 0.10 percent, the fine can range from $300 to $500. 
  • A fine of $500 to $1,000 will be imposed for the second offense of driving under the influence of alcohol within ten years. 
  • A fine of $1,000 is imposed for the third and each subsequent DUI offense committed within a 10-year period.

Guidelines to Avoid an Arrest for DUI/DWI

There are things you can do to mitigate the risk of being arrested for DUI/DWI.

  • Be aware of the dangers of driving while intoxicated. If you are aware of the dangers that you pose to others as well as to yourself, you are much less likely to consume alcohol and then get behind the wheel. 
  • Be aware of the consequences of a DUI or a DWI. A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can cost you a lot in a variety of ways, including the possibility of receiving a hefty fine, serving time in jail, and other penalties. 
  • Be aware of the practical repercussions of the DUI/DWI charge. In addition to the legal consequences for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, a conviction can cause you to lose your job, be expelled from school, and encounter other consequences that can permanently alter your life.

North Jersey Rehabs will Provide Alcohol Addiction Treatment

Alcoholism is a grave disease that, with the assistance of a reputable specialized treatment center like North Jersey Rehabs, can be remedied into a manageable condition. If you are struggling with alcohol dependence, get professional assistance and finally get your life back in order as soon as possible. Reach out to our counselors today to obtain more information about your treatment options!

Get in touch with North Jersey Rehabs


Please complete the form below to contact North Jersey Rehabs. If You need immediate assistance, please call (201) 928-5822. We’re waiting to hear from you!